How To: Managing Your Google+ Security Settings

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Google+ is Google’s social networking site that is similar to Facebook. Below are some tips on how you can use Google+’s security and privacy options to make your Google+ experience a safe one.

Turn Off Photo and Geolocation Tagging

By default, Google+ inserts geolocation information into any photo you upload, and allows your face to be found in any photo uploaded as well. These are both privacy concerns, so you can simply turn these defaults off.

  1. Click Home > Settings from the Google+ Accounts page.
  2. From the Photos and Videos section, uncheck the Show geo location information on newly shared albums and Don’t feature my publicly shared Google + photos as background images for Google products & services fields.

Turn Off Location Sharing

Google+ has a setting which shares your location with others. If you do not want to be tracked, then make sure that this setting is off.

  1. Click Home > Settings from the Google+ Accounts page.
  2. In the Location Settings section, make sure that the Enable Location Sharing checkbox is not checked.
Get Private Wifi   Protect your personal information.
Get DataCompress   Cut your mobile data usage.

Jared Howe

Jared Howe is PRIVATE WiFi’s Senior Manager, Product Marketing Communications. Working in high tech for over 15 years, Jared currently lives in Seattle with his wife, daughter, and their two cats.